Aesthetics for Birds

Aesthetics and Philosophy of Art for Everyone

ASA Elections

| 1 Comment


The American Society for Aesthetics (ASA) is currently holding elections for a vice president and for two trustee positions.

The ASA Vice President will serve a two-year term starting February 1, 2019, and after which they will serve as ASA President for two years. The two ASA Trustees will serve for three years, also starting February 1, 2019.

Brief bios for the nominees appear below the fold. (These were sent out via email to ASA members.)

The deadline to vote is December 31, 2018. Results will be announced in early January. All members of the ASA in 2018 are eligible to vote.

To vote, click here.

Vice President nominees

David Davies is Professor (and former Chair) of Philosophy at McGill University. He wrote Art as Performance (2004), Aesthetics and Literature (2007), and Philosophy of the Performing Arts (2011), edited The Thin Red Line (2008), and co-edited Blade Runner (2015). He has published on a wide range of metaphysical and epistemological issues concerning the arts, on issues relating specifically to film, photography, literature, music, theatre, dance, and visual art, and on general philosophical issues in metaphysics, mind, and language (please see ‘Research cv’ at He has participated annually at the ASA General meetings since 2002, serving twice on the Programme Committee (2006, 2013), and regularly attends the Pacific Division meetings (Programme Chair, 2010). An ASA Trustee from 2009-12, he has been a BSA Trustee since 2013, and was co-Programme Chair for the 2016/17 BSA meetings. He also founded and organises the annual Dubrovnik Conference on the Philosophy of Art.

James Shelley is Professor of Philosophy and Chair of the Philosophy Department at Auburn University. His work applies the history of aesthetics, particularly that of the eighteenth century, to questions about the nature of aesthetic value, the objectivity of aesthetic judgment, the aesthetic status of artworks, and the value of tragedy. At present he is working to complete a book on the nature of aesthetic value. He has served the ASA as Trustee (2011-2014), Program Chair of the Annual Meeting (2011), Program Chair of the Meeting of the Pacific Division (2003), and Member of the Annual Meeting Program Committee (2004, 2007, and 2019). He has organized international conferences on beauty and the philosophy of film at Auburn, and is a founding member of the Auburn Aesthetics Forum. He currently serves as Subject Editor in Aesthetics on the Editorial Board of the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Trustee nominees

Saul Fisher is Visiting Associate Professor of Philosophy and Associate Provost for Research, Grants, and Academic Initiatives at Mercy College (NY).  He received his PhD in Philosophy from the CUNY Graduate Center, MA in Philosophy from Rice University, and AB in Political Science and Philosophy from Columbia University.  Previously, Fisher was Associate Provost and Adjunct Associate Professor of Philosophy at Hunter College; Director of Fellowship Programs of the American Council of Learned Societies; and program officer at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.  Fisher’s research is focused on philosophy of architecture, for which he was awarded a Graham Foundation grant (2009) and which includes publications in JAAC and the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  He is also pursuing a research program on developmental aesthetics.  He has reviewed for JAAC, served on the ASA 2015 Annual Meeting Program Committee, and serves on the ASA Diversity Committee, currently chairing the subcommittee on institutional relationships.

Keren Gorodeisky is Associate Professor at Auburn University. Her work on Kant, aesthetic pleasure, aesthetic value, aesthetic rationality and romantic aesthetics has been published in the Journal of PhilosophyBritish Journal of Aesthetics, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy and others. Gorodeisky was the 2012-13 Philip Quinn Fellow at the National Humanities Center, and a participant at the ASA-UBC 2018 Summer Seminar, “Beauty and Why it Matters.” Gorodeisky has been attending the annual meeting of the ASA regularly since 2007, and has served on the program committee of this meeting in 2012 and 2014. She organized conferences on Aristotle and Kant and on Moral and Aesthetic Testimony. Gorodeisky is a regular reviewer of papers in aesthetics for both specialized and general journals, and is currently serving as the vice-president of the Society for German Idealism and Romanticism.

Charles Peterson, a native of Gary, IN, earned a B.A. in Philosophy from Morehouse College (1992) and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Philosophy, Interpretation and Culture from Binghamton University (1995, 2000). He has taught at Florida International University, Temple University, The College of Wooster and presently is an Associate Professor of Africana Studies at Oberlin College. He is a co-editor of De-Colonizing the Academy: African Diaspora Studies (African World Press, 2003), and author of DuBois, Fanon, Cabral: The Margins of Elite Anti-Colonial Leadership (Lexington Books, 2007). He has published in the fields of Africana Philosophy, Africana Political Theory and Aesthetics. He teaches courses in Africana Philosophy, Africana Popular Culture Africana American Politics, Black Nationalism, and Marxism. He is presently working on the manuscript Beyond Civil Disobedience: Social Nullification and African American Citizenship. He also organized the ASA-funded conference on “Race, Art, and Aesthetics” at Oberlin College in September 2017.

Monique Roelofs is Professor of Philosophy at Hampshire College, where she teaches aesthetics and feminist, critical race, postcolonial, and political theory. Her book The Cultural Promise of the Aesthetic was published in 2014. Her articles have appeared in journals such as HypatiaConfluenciadifferences, M/m-Print-Plus-Platform, and Texte zur Kunst, and anthologies such as The Routledge Companion to the Philosophy of Race (2018). She recently completed two new book manuscripts, titled “Arts of Address: How We Relate to Language, People, Things, and Places” and “Aesthetics, Address, and the Making of Culture.” The guest editor of Aesthetics and Race, a special volume of Contemporary Aesthetics (2009), she currently is coauthoring a book on aesthetics and temporality in Latin America. A recipient of a curriculum diversification grant (2015) and co-organizer of a symposium on Black Aesthetics (2017), she has served on several ASA committees, including the diversity committee (2009-2013) and three program committees.

Image credit: “Don’t Forget to Vote” by Thomas Hawk

One Comment

  1. Please note: only current ASA members can vote. You must FIRST log into your account on the web site and then you will be able to vote.
    The nominees were announced, with bios, September 27:
    All nominees were introduced at the Annual business meeting October 13 in Toronto.
    Complete bios with voting instructions were posted December 1:
    This information was also publicized on Twitter and Facebook and will appear in the December ASA Newsletter.
    Although the ASA By-laws provide for additional nominations from current members (as noted in the 9/27 announcement), none was received.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.