Aesthetics for Birds

Aesthetics and Philosophy of Art for Everyone

ASA Junior Scholars Essay Contest Winners Announced


The American Society for Aesthetics has announced the five winners of the Junior Scholars Essay Contest on the future of aesthetics and the ASA.

First Prize: John Dyck, Doctoral Student in Philosophy, CUNY-Graduate Center

Second Prize: Brian Soucek, Assistant Professor of Law, University of California Davis School of Law

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order):

Robert R. Clewis, Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Gwynedd Mercy University

Peter Doebler, Hone Research Fellow for Museum Engagement, The Dayton Art Institute

Sarah Gokhale, Graduate Student, CUNY

The five winning essays will be posted on the ASA web site in early September. In addition, all five winners will present their ideas on the future of aesthetics and the ASA at the ASA Annual Meeting in Seattle, at a special session Saturday morning, November 19.

We encourage everyone interested in the future of aesthetics and the ASA to read their essays and attend the special session to share your ideas. These discussions will help lead us into our celebration of the 75th anniversary of the ASA in 2017.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.